Indian Railways Free Information

Monday, April 20, 2009

Indian Railway Zones, Railway Zones of India, Major Zones of Indian Railways

Indian Railway Zones, Railway Zones of India, Major Zones of Indian Railways

S.NoIndian Railway Zones NamesIndian Railway Zones Abbr.Indian Railway Zones HeadquartersDate of Establishment
1. Northern RailwayNRDelhiApril 14, 1952
2. North Eastern RailwayNERGorakhpur1952
3. Northeast Frontier RailwayNFRMaligaon (Guwahati) 1958
4. Eastern RailwayERKolkataApril 14, 1952
5. South Eastern RailwaySERKolkata1955
6. South Central RailwaySCRSecunderabadOct' 2, 1966
7. Southern RailwaySRChennaiApril 14, 1951
8.Central RailwayCRMumbaiNov' 5, 1951
9. Western RailwayWRMumbaiNov' 5, 1951
10. South Western RailwaySWRHubliApril 1, 2003
11. North Western RailwayNWRJaipurOct' 1, 2002
12.West Central RailwayWCRJabalpurApril 1, 2003
13.North Central RailwayNCRAllahabadApril 1, 2003
14.South East Central RailwaySECRBilaspur, CGApril 1, 2003
15.East Coast RailwayECoRBhubaneswarApril 1, 2003
16.East Central RailwayECRHajipurOct' 1, 2002
17.Konkan RailwayKRNavi MumbaiJan' 26, 1998

The major railway zones that have been covered here are as follows:

Central Indian RailwayThe Central Railway (CR) is perhaps the oldest railway zone of Indian Railways. This is one amongst the largest of the sixteen zones bifurcated by Indian Railways.

Eastern Indian RailwayThe Eastern Railway is one of the major zones of Indian Railways. Fairley Place in Kolkata being its headquarters, the Eastern zone is segregated into four divisions including Howrah, Malda, Sealdah, and Asansol for better administration.

Northern Indian RailwayThe Northern Railway (NR) is one amongst the nine older zones of Indian Railways. Delhi, the capital city of India, serves as the headquarters of Northern Railway.Southern Indian RailwaySouthern Railway (SR) is credited to be the first railway zone that sought establishment in liberated India. On April 14th 1951, Southern Railway was established by combining three state railways including Madras and Southern Mahratta Railway, South Indian Railway and Mysore State Railway.Western Indian RailwayThe Western Railway (WR) is one amongst the most hustling rail networks in India. Along with headquarters of Central Railway, Mumbai enjoys the authority over this railway network too, being the headquarters sited at Churchgate (Mumbai).

No comments:

Post a Comment